Grassy Spark

Grassy Spark Release ‘Here I Am’ & Video

‘Portal’ Debut Album Available Now On iTunes

Grassy Spark has released their brand new single ‘Here I Am’ along with the music video for the track. Their debut album ‘Portal’ is also now available for pre-order on iTunes here:

Without a doubt one of South Africa’s top live bands, the 7-piece Ska band has been working for quite a while on their debut album ‘Portal’. The first single to be released was Living In A Paradise’ back in 2015 and features one of SA’s finest musicians and a great friend of the band, Jeremy Loops, on harmonica. The new single ‘Here I Am’ is the latest single to be released and fans were following the band all of last week on social media and on-air on 5FM as Grassy Spark and 5fm DJ Nick Hamman hyped the single premier with a great online campaign. The campaign had fans share videos via social media spreading the message of what they aspire to be one day and driving the trend with #HereIAm. The single received its first play on Nick Hamman’s show on 5Fm on Friday, 29 July.

Grassy Spark are made up of Josh Riley and Yanick Bathfield sharing lead vocals and guitar, Simon Ackermann on Keys and Sax, Chad Hendricks on Trumpet, Murray Buitendag on Trombone, Kevin Kok on Bass, and Lawrence Jaeger on Drums, and have become the new kings of the live scene, so making sure their album mirrors their incredible live show was a big task.

Bathfield and Riley are the key songwriters behind the catchy 11-track debut album and the song writing process alone took 7 months before the rest of the band could join in to add their vital parts. Bathfield took the reigns as the tracking engineer as well as head producer, with Riley assisting where he could as co-producer. The album was mixed by Vicente Espi at Songololo Studios and mastered by Pablo San Martin at Esoteric Sound Studio, both of whom graduated from Berklee College of Music in their respective fields – they took the variety and diversity of sound and added the cherry on top with flawless consistency!

The album also features a nice selection of local artists with Jeremy Loops, Khaos Cotterell, Bonj Mpanza, and Rudeboboboss each featuring on a song.

Kicking off with the new single ‘Here I Am’, followed by ‘Living In a Paradise’ featuring Jeremy Loops, and then ‘Feel it’ with Khaos Cotterell, each song holds its own and has this 11-track album open up a portal to a care-free happy place where Grassy Spark found the magic sound for their album.

‘”Here I Am’ tells the story of a narrative existing within every single person. It carries the message of overcoming one’s doubts and obstacles and taking that first step forward towards achieving one’s dreams,” explains front man, Josh Riley.

Watch Grassy Spark Cover The Kooks, Milky Chance & The Cat Empire (Popsicle Studios Session):

Catch Grassy Spark live:

6 August – Oppikoppi Festival

26 & 27 August – Afriski Winter Music Festival

16 September – ‘Portal’ Album Launch, The Mercury – Cape Town

17 September – ‘Portal’ Album Launch, Cape Farmhouse Restaurant – Cape Town

24 September – Bokjol Festival, Magalies Retreat, Johannesburg

8 October – Rocking The Daisies

Follow Grassy Spark online:

Facebook –

Twitter –

YouTube –

SoundCloud –



About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *