Catch Bluesman Doc Maclean In A Town Near You

Doc Maclean Tour

Catch Doc Maclean on his Spook’n Diesel South African Tour

“This is my home away from home, so I care deeply about it. I have friends in every corner. Spook’n Diesel is a tattered little, non-commercial tour with big shows, small shows, and even little pop up shows with guest artists…” – Doc Maclean

Blues vagabond, storyteller and performer Doc Maclean is back in South Africa for Spook’n Diesel, his third nationwide tour, playing across the county. The tour comes off the back of 60 very successful North American shows with Albert Frost late last year. Their CanAfrica Blues Tour was sold out in most regions and had strong reviews everywhere.

Writing from the dark side of the blues highway. Doc explored and resided in the American rural south at a time when it was much less visited than it is today, and had mentors like Son House, Peg Leg Sam, and Sam Chatmon. Gifted by the grandchildren of slaves, MacLean now sings his own stories and tells his own songs in his own voice. His mostly resophonic, finger style slide guitar pays sonic homage to Patton, House, and Big Joe Williams, in a roots based, yet contemporary context.

Tour dates

Saturday 23 Feb, Cafe Barcelona, Pretoria, Thursday
Wednesday 27 Feb, Sinkshack, Bronkhorstspruit
Thursday 28 Feb, Jarr Bar, Pretoria
Thursday 14 March, Calversham Mill, Lidgetton, KZN
Friday 15 March, Rocky Ridge, Ramsgate,
Wednesday 20 March, House in Zululand, Eshowe
Friday 22 March – Sunday 24 March, Mojo Rising Blues Cruise (out of Durban)
Tuesday 26 March, Legends, East London
Thursday 28 March, Surf Cafe, Plettenburg Bay
Friday 29 March, Plankies & Hangklip, Pringle Bay
Saturday 30 March, Camel Rock, Scarborough, Cape Town
Monday 1 April, Barleycorn Folk Club, Cape Town
Friday 5 April and Saturday 6 April, Alma Cafe, Cape Town

 

 

Image by Nick Harding

 

 

Please share and like away:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *